State wins FEMA appeal after January storms

(WISH Photo/Ron Nakasone)

INDIANAPOLIS (WISH) — Indiana will get federal disaster assistance for January’s winter storms, after a successful appeal of the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s initial denial of help.

FEMA has now agreed to a major disaster declaration in 19 counties for the storms that hit Jan. 5-9. Many counties were also denied assistance, including Boone, Madison, Morgan and Tipton counties.

Counties receiving help will be eligible for grants that cover 75 percent of costs related to roads, bridges, utilities, debris removal, rescue operations and other similar expenses.

The counties included for assistance are Boone, Clay, Hendricks, Huntington, Jasper, Kosciusko, Madison, Morgan, Newton, Noble, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Sullivan, Tipton, Vigo, Wabash, White and Whitley. provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s