Outstanding teachers at IPS honored on Wednesday

WISH Photo
WISH Photo

INDIANAPOLIS (WISH) – Four Indianapolis Public School teachers were honored on Wednesday evening.

The four teachers were named the Hubbard Life Changing teachers. Each teacher received a $25,000 reward for their service.

Cythia Hartshorn has been a choir and drama director at Arsneal Tech, and has spent 41-years as an educator.

Hartshorn had about 15 students nominate her.

“This is unbelievable and I am amazed and humbled and awed by the fact that I was selected to receive this award,” she said.

The three other teachers were Tina Ahlgren a math teacher at Shortridge High School, Rhonda Pierre a pre-algebra and algebra teacher at Harshman Magnet School and Deb Wolinsky a math and resource teacher at Broad Ripple High.

Six finalists also received $1,000 dollars on Wednesday evening.

WISHTV.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

blog comments powered by Disqus