Indiana congressional members all win re-election

Rep. Andre Carson takes the podium Tuesday night, Nov. 4, 2014. (WISH Photo)

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — Indiana has re-elected all nine incumbent U.S. House members after voting in seven new representatives in the previous two elections.

Tuesday’s vote marks the first time since 1986 that Indiana’s entire congressional delegation has been elected in back-to-back elections.

Every Indiana House incumbent won re-election in 2008, but Rep. Andre Carson had been in office only nine months that year after replacing his late grandmother, Julia Carson.

The current delegation includes seven Republicans and two Democrats.

Republican Reps. Jackie Walorski, Susan Brooks and Luke Messer were elected to second terms, while GOP Reps. Marlin Stutzman, Todd Rokita, Larry Bucshon and Todd Young won third terms. Democrat Pete Visclosky won a 16th term, while Carson was elected to a fourth full term. provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s