Long announces Senate committee picks, new chairs

Senate President Pro Tem David Long (indianasenaterepublicans.com)

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — Indiana senators are getting committee assignments that will leave a handful of the chamber’s panels with new leaders heading into the legislative session.

Republican Sen. Jean Leising (LEYE’-sing) of Oldenburg is taking the reins of the Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee and Republican Sen. Carlin Yoder of Middlebury will take over chairmanship of the Homeland Security and Transportation Committee.

The changes for the 2015 session that begins Jan. 7 follow a round of retirements in the past year and the addition of eight new Republican senators. Republicans outnumber Democrats 10-1 in the Indiana Senate.

Senate President Pro Tem David Long announced the new assignments Friday afternoon.

WISHTV.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others and keep the conversation on topic and civil. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s