Fort Wayne literary specialist is Indiana Teacher of Year

(WLFI Photo)

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (AP) — The 2016 Indiana Teacher of the Year is literary specialist Jean Russell of Haverhill Elementary School in Fort Wayne.

Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz made the announcement Monday morning.

Russell has been an educator for 25 years. She worked as a classroom teacher for 21 years before she became a literary specialist. Ritz says Russell creates “a culture of readers both in and outside the classroom.”

Russell will represent Indiana in the National Teacher of the Year competition.

Comments are closed.