2016 Teacher of the Year announced

INDIANAPOLIS (WISH) — The 2016 Indiana Teacher of the Year was formally recognized at a banquet Friday night.

Jean Russell is a literacy specialist at Haverhill Elementary in Fort Wayne.

She says she hopes to spend her time as teacher of the year as an ambassador of her profession.

Encouraging her fellow teachers, and hopefully inspiring more young people to pursue the career.

“All along I’ve said that the only way I can really be comfortable with this is as a representative. And I just, I promise that I will try to shine a light on all the great things that teachers are doing as often as I possibly can,” Russell said.

Russell was chosen from ten finalists and dozens of initial nominations.

Comments are closed.