Rutherford to drive Indy 500 pace car

The 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 will take place in 2016. (Photo Provided/IMS)

INDIANAPOLIS (WISH) – Three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Johnny Rutherford will drive the pace car during the 100th running of the race.

Rutherford, who will also drive the pace car for the IndyCar race in Phoenix won the Indy 500 in 1974, 1976 and 1980.

The honorary driver who will lead the field to start the race has yet to be named.

IndyCar also announced that former team owner and driver Sarah Fisher will serve as the pace car driver for the other 14 races this season, including the season opener in St. Petersburg.

Also, Team Penske unveiled new paint schemes for the cars of Juan Pablo Montoya and Will Power.

Comments are closed.