Who is on the ballot for Indiana’s primary?

Marion County Voting Precinct
(WISH photo)

INDIANAPOLIS (WISH) — Indiana is one week away from the primary election. Here is a look at the races.


The race for the White House is the main event of the 2016 primary. Hillary Clinton and Bernie Sanders are on the Democratic ticket. Donald Trump, Ted Cruz and John Kasich are on the Republican side. Kasich is not campaigning in Indiana after teaming up with Ted Cruz in an effort to stop Donald Trump from winning the nomination.

U.S. Senate

Marlin Stutzman and Todd Young are in a battle for the Republican nomination. The winner takes on former 9th District U.S. Representative Baron Hill in November to decide who will take over Dan Coats’ seat in the Senate after Coats announced he would not seek re-election.

U.S. Representative

District 1 incumbent Peter Visclosky is challenged by Willie Brown for the Democratic nomination.

District 2 incumbent Jackie Walorski is challenged by Jeff Petermann on the Republican ticket.

Three Democrats are looking for the District 3 win: Todd Nightenhelser, John Forrest Roberson and Tommy Schrader. Six Republicans are lined up for District 3: Jim Banks, Mark Willard Baringer, Elizabeth Brown, Pam Galloway, Kevin Howell and Kip Tom. The winner in November replaces Marlin Stutzman.

Incumbent Todd Rokita faces Kevin Grant in the District 4 Republican race. If Rokita wins again, it sets up a rematch against John Dale, who Rokita easily beat in 2014.

Republican incumbent Susan Brooks has challengers in District 5 in Mike Campbell and Stephen MacKenzie. Allen Davidson and Angela Demaree are looking for the Democrat nomination.

District 6 incumbent Luke Messer has two challengers on the Republican side in Charles Johnson, Jr. and Jeff Smith. Danny Basham, George Thomas Holland, Bruce Peavler, Ralph Spelbring and Barry Welsh aim for the Democrat nomination.

Democrat Andre Carson looks to keep his seat in District 7. Curtis Godfrey and Pierre Quincy Pullins are his challengers. Wayne Harmon, JD Miniear and Catherine Ping seek the Republican nomination.

The District 8 incumbent is Republican Larry Bucshon. He is challenged by Richard Moss. Ron Drake and David Orentlicher seek the nomination on the Democrat ticket.

The District 9 seat was vacated by Todd Young. Robert Hall, Trey Hollingsworth, Erin Houchin, Brent Waltz and Greg Zoeller are looking for the Republican nomination. Bob Kern, James McClure, Jr., Bill Thomas and Shelli Yoder seek the Democratic nomination.

State Senate

In District 16, incumbent and Indiana Senate President Pro Tem, David Long faces a  primary challenge from Republican John Kessler.

Senate Appropriations Chairman, Luke Kenley is also facing a GOP primary challenge from Scott Willis.

In District 36, Republicans Jack E. Sandlin and Jefferson Shreve square-off for the GOP nomination.

To see the entire Indiana ballot, click here.

To find your polling location, click here.

Comments are closed.