‘Lone Star JR’ talks about his 3 wins at Indy 500

FILE - In this May 31, 1976, file photo, Johnny Rutherford, right, and A.J. Foyt chat during a rain delay in the Indianapolis 500 auto race, in Indianapolis, Ind. Rutherford was later declared the winner when the rain continued and it became apparent the race could not be resumed. A.J. Foyt was second. In the lead-up to the 100th running of the "The Greatest Spectacle in Racing," The Associated Press interviewed the 27 living race winners on topics ranging from the best driver to greatest tradition. When it came time to name the greatest rivalry, Foyt, Mario Andretti and Bobby Unser received the most attention. (AP Photo/File)

INDIANAPOLIS (WISH) – Johnny Rutherford also known as “Lone Star JR” is a racer known for being one of ten drivers to win the prestigious Indianapolis 500 mile race at least three times.

Derek Daly talked with Rutherford about his wins in 1974, 1976 and 1980.

Comments are closed.