Chicago Cubs are World Series champs

The Chicago Cubs celebrate after Game 7 of the Major League Baseball World Series against the Cleveland Indians Thursday, Nov. 3, 2016, in Cleveland. The Cubs won 8-7 in 10 innings to win the series 4-3. (AP Photo/David J. Phillip)

(WISH) — The Chicago Cubs are World Series champions.  They won the series four games to three.

Dexter Fowler led off the game with a home run to put the Cubs in front.

Cleveland responded in the third inning as Carlos Santana singled home Coco Crisp to tie the game.

Chicago went back in front with a pair of runs in the top of the fourth inning on an Addison Russell sacrifice fly and a Wilson Contreras RBI double.

The Cubs went deep again in the fifth inning as Javier Baez connected on a solo shot off Corey Kluber, chasing the Cleveland ace from the game.

The Indians cut the Cubs lead to 5-3 in the bottom of the fifth inning on an unusual wild pitch that allowed two runs to score.

Veteran catcher David Ross hit a solo home run in the top of the sixth inning, giving the Cubs a three run lead.

But the Indians wouldn’t go away quietly. In the bottom of the eighth inning, a two-out infield single followed by an RBI double by Brandon Guyer cut the deficit to 6-4. Rajai Davis then hit a two-run homer off Cubs closer Aroldis Chapman to tie the game.

The game would remain tied after nine innings and there was a 17 minute rain delay before the start of the 10th inning.

Scoring two In the top of the 10th inning the Cubs took the lead 8-6. The Indians came back and scored one in the bottom of the 10th to make it 8-7.  However, it wasn’t enough as the Cubs won their first World Series in over 100 years.