Former Colts Jeff Saturday, Edgerrin James among nominees for HOF

Former Indianapolis Colts center Jeff Saturday waves to fans as the team honored the 2006 Super Bowl winning team during half time of an NFL football game in Indianapolis, Sunday, Nov. 20, 2016. (AP Photo/Darron Cummings)

CANTON, Ohio (AP/WISH) — Star linebackers Ray Lewis and Brian Urlacher and game-breaking wide receiver Randy Moss and former Colt offensive lineman Jeff Saturday are among 11 first-year eligible players for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Also part of the 108 early nominees who are eligible for the first time, having been retired for five years when the class is chosen next February, are cornerback Ronde Barber, wideouts Donald Driver and Steve Smith (former Giant, Eagle and Ram), offensive linemen Steve Hutchinson, Matt Birk, and Jeff Saturday, and defensive linemen Richard Seymour and Kyle Vanden Bosch.

The roster of nominees consists of 53 offensive players, 38 defensive players, five special teams players and 12 coaches. Modern era nominees will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November and, from there, to 15 finalists in January.

During Super Bowl week, 48 voters will discuss the finalists, plus senior nominees Robert Brazile and Jerry Kramer and contributors nominee Bobby Beathard. There is no set number for any class of enshrinees, though between four and eight new members will be selected.

Returning finalists from 2017 are receivers Isaac Bruce and Terrell Owens; center Kevin Mawae; tackles Tony Boselli and Joe Jacoby; guard Alan Faneca; safeties John Lynch and Brian Dawkins; cornerback Ty Law; and coach Don Coryell.

While not a first time nominee, former Colts running back Edgerrin James returns as a nominee for induction into the Football Hall of Fame.

Enshrinement will be next August in Canton.

For the entire list of nominees to the Football Hall of Fame, click here.