Facebook introduces ‘snooze’ feature

FILE - In this May 16, 2012, file photo, the Facebook logo is displayed on an iPad in Philadelphia. Facebook says a Russian internet agency posted more than 80,000 pieces of content during and after the 2016 election, and that content was distributed to an estimated 126 million users. The company plans to disclose the new numbers to Congress in testimony to the Senate Judiciary Committee on Tuesday, Oct. 31, 2017, according to a source familiar with the testimony. (AP Photo/Matt Rourke, File)

MENLO PARK, Calif. (KNWA) – Facebook users may be excited about the company’s announcement of a new feature, titled “snooze,” which will allow users to hide a friend’s posts for a period of 30 days.

That means users who are tired of looking at tense political posts, comment flame wars or even endless pictures of food can hide their friends who insist on posting such content.

Once you have chosen to “snooze” someone, Facebook will notify you before the snooze period ends, giving users the opportunity to extend it should they so choose.

The setting can also be reversed at any time.